Burgers and Milkshakes

August 28, 2019, 25 degrees Burger joint, 200 Middle Road, Singapore

Today marks the first day of leaving full time work. What beholds in the future, I have no clue. I may do part time work or go back to full time work – that’s a possibility. At this point in time, I am quite mentally tired and am looking forward to a long break.

Back to my food blogging. Started thinking about lunch around 11am. Only had a nutty bar after a 7km run this morning. So was feeling peckish. I left it too late in the day to wander to popular lunchtime places as I could not face the office lunchtime crowds, not when I am not working. I started googling places for best burgers and most of the recommended locations were tad too far except this 25 Degrees Burger place. Middle Road is only a number 48 bus ride from my place, so relatively convenient. The reviews were quite good, so here I am.

It is located on the ground floor of Hotel G, with great street frontage. The single bar seats face the Middle Road Bencoolen St junction, so great for people watching.

The burgers are given numbers rather than names, no 1, no 2 etc.

They had a lunchtime burger set for $12 which comes with their signature burger and French fries. I asked if I could swap the fries for coleslaw but was told that I can’t. The fries was priced the same as the coleslaw so I am not sure why they could not swap for me. I suspect that because it is a lunch set, the portion of the French fries is smaller than the standard size and the kitchen probably could not do an equivalent smaller portion of the coleslaw. Just another example of no initiative, pure laziness or just sheer ambivalence.

Back to the burger- I ordered Burger no3 which has jalapeño- wanted something with a bite. When they brought the burger out, the chargrilled smell of the patty was divine. They really did a great job there. The patty was cooked medium rare and quite flavour some and juicy. They use brioche buns which I found it too soft for my liking.

I also ordered milkshake, wish they have cream soda.

Overall it was a decent meal. The standard size burger was not too huge, so I did not feel bloated full.

Looking at their menu, they have decent breakfast brunch offerings. So could be a place to come for weekend brunch.

Burger no 5 is buttermilk fried chicken burger- something to try next time.

They also have cheesy mac which looked wicked.

Need to plan my meals and not over indulge now that I am not working.

Leave a comment